Canyoning in Upper Austria

Gimbbach, Aqua Cowboy, Höllgraben, Mitterweißenbach and Grabenbach


The Gimbbach canyoning tour is short, fun and also suitable for children when the water level is low. Many of the slides and jumps can be done a second time.


The most well-known gorge in the Salzkammergut is the Grabenbach. This trench is very susceptible to water (rises quickly when it rains) and can therefore only be traversed in stable weather conditions.


Cold but still highly recommended is the short gorge in the Weißenbachtal between Weißenbach am Attersee and Bad Ischl, which is known by canyoning professionals as Devil's Bathtube. This canyon should not be underestimated, as dangerous situations can arise there very quickly if the water level is too high.


The Hohenzollern waterfall is the conclusion of the Aqua Cowboy canyoning tour in Bad Ischl. Even if the water level is already too high in many other gorges, this gorge can often still be entered safely.


The Höllgraben is located in Rosenau am Hengspass. A very demanding adventure course has been set up above the gorge, one of which is a kind of via ferrata with many zip lines (flying fox) and some exciting rope bridges.


There are of course other gorges in Upper Austria that may be of interest to ambitious gorge walkers, but cannot be offered by canyoning providers, for legal reasons or because of a very difficult access route.


This includes the Ötzbach at the entrance to the Stodertal and the halfpipe in the Brunnental. In the Kalkalpen National Park are the Hetz Gorge and the Hochschlachtbach (Panta Rhai), both of which are not allowed to be run commercially due to the National Park Act.


Just for the sake of completeness, we would also like to mention a small waterfall in Klaus an der Pyhrnbahn, which some companies sell as a canyoning tour. Even if this tour may be interesting for a few, very special groups, our personal enthusiasm for it is very limited.

Canyoning in Oberösterreich

Aqua Cowboy, Höllgraben, Mitterweißenbach und Grabenbach

Kurz aber trotzdem sehr zu empfehlen ist die kurze Klamm im Weißenbachtal zwischen Weißenbach am Attersee und Bad Ischl, die bei den Canyoningprofis unter Devil´s Bathtube bekannt ist. Dieser Canyon darf nicht unterschätzt werden, da es dort bei zu hohem Wasserstand sehr schnell zu gefährlichen Situationen kommen kann.

Der Hohenzollern Wasserfall ist der Abschluss der Canyoningtour Aqua Cowboy in Bad Ischl. Diese Schlucht kann, auch wenn in vielen anderen Klammen der Wasserstand bereits zu hoch ist, oft noch gefahrlos begangen werden.

In Rosenau am Hengspass befindet sich der Höllgraben. Oberhalb der Schlucht wurde ein recht anspruchsvoller Adventure Parcours eingerichtet, eine handelt sich dabei um eine Art Klettersteig mit vielen Seilrutschen (Flying Fox) und einigen spannenden Seilbrücken.

Eine der mit Recht bekanntesten Schluchten im Salzkammergut ist der Grabenbach. Dieser Graben ist sehr wasseranfällig (steigt bei Regen schnell an) und kann deshalb nur bei stabilen Wetterverhältnissen begangen werden.

 

Es gibt natürlich noch weitere Schluchten in Oberösterreich, die für ambitionierte Schluchtengeher interessant sein mögen, von Canyoninganbieter, aus rechtlichen Gründen oder wegen eines sehr beschwerlichen Zustiegsweges, aber nicht angeboten werden können.

Dazu gehört der Ötzbach am Eingang des Stodertals und die Halfpipe im Brunnental. Im Nationalpark Kalkalpen befinden sich die Hetzschlucht und der Hochschlachtbach (Panta Rhai) die beide aufgrund des Nationalpark Gesetzes nicht gewerblich geführt werden dürfen.

 

Nur der Vollständigkeit halber möchten wir auch noch einen kleinen Wasserfall in Klaus an der Pyhrnbahn erwähnen, der von einigen Unternehmen als Canyoningtour verkauft wird. Auch wenn diese Tour für wenige, ganz spezielle Gruppen, interessant sein mag, hält sich unsere persönliche Begeisterung dafür sehr in Grenzen.